#liveLife #realLife #privacy #yolo

What happened to the era where the # sign was meant to represent number or to load credit to your prepaid cell connection? Why do we feel the need to put a hashtag on everything? Why is it that we can’t keep a simple family photo to ourselves?

People, now a days, tend to need approval at all forms of social media. One platform just doesn’t seem to be enough. We are constantly bombarded with the same photo of our neighbor’s 2 month old daughter or a friend’s recent trip to the beach on Instagram, Facebook, twitter, and what not. To be honest, I am a regular Facebook-er but basically I lurk in the background. Reading peoples statuses, articles they have posted and occasionally I may like a picture that pops up in my newsfeed. I was always a bit hesitant posting private pictures on Facebook because I had a vast friends list. Not as vast as some people I have come across with 1000s of friends.

It wasn’t until I joined Instagram that I started putting more pictures than I normally would. I liked the privacy I could design with a brand new account without having to privatize the photos in each album. I throw in a little # here and there just to see what the big deal is all about. But since I am not in the market for random followers, it doesn’t do me much good. I love though how when I started a hashtag for my son, all his pictures and videos would pop up in one place. And if I want to share the pics with someone I can just tell them to go search for it.

Sometimes I feel it is some propaganda arranged specifically to distract us from the realities of life, from the things that truly deserve our attention. We are so busy capturing a moment in a digital picture that we forget to live life as it is happening. We forget to smell the food when it arrives, we are busy clicking away when our child practices his first steps instead of being there of him in case he stumbles, we are busy taking “selfies” at weddings when really we should be mingling with relatives we have not met due to busy schedules/work/school. In the urgency of making a capsule out of our memories, we forget to live.

So lets turn off our Smartphones, Notes, Laptops and Tabs for one night, and read a good book, spend time with a loved one, go out and interact with real people!

Leave a Reply

