This Pinktober- Go Pink

Pinktober October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. I decided to write this blog after going through Going MIA. Fighting.Surviving.Coming back all Fabulous again. 

I understand how difficult it can be to talk about this horrible disease. Sometimes when I meet new people, I don’t even want them to know cause that way I can pretend it never happened. Nonetheless, I feel it should be discussed and people should raise awareness in order to promote early detection. The disease is best treated from roots in its early stages. It is essential for young women to understand how to examine themselves to ensure early detection! If you do not already know, go here.

You can also google different websites for additional information. Also, there are now apps for your phone that will set reminders for you to conduct your self-exams and/or set an appointment for mammograms. 

Ladies, PLEASE! This is NOT something you wanna be shy about. If you notice any abnormalities immediately see a doctor. Do not take your health casually. I recently met this mother at my son’s school and we became good friends. When I told her about it, she found courage and said she has been noticing abnormalities (lumps) but is too afraid to go see a doctor. I offered to go with her and encouraged her to go ASAP. She eventually went with her husband; which was a blessing cause her lump turned out to be benign. 

I noticed that when I would inform women in my family also. Some people tend to get defensive about it and say “It is not going to happen to us just cause it happened to you”. I HOPE no one has to go through it, but it is a harsh and common reality now a days. It can happen to any one. Early detection is key. snc

For all other fellow survivors out there I want to tell you that it will get better! You just have to hang in there… when you feel like you just.can’t.do.it.anymore…just hold on 1 second longer… It won’t be the same as before, but I promise you it will be better than the now. You will feel like you will never laugh again or find joy. Guess what? You will experience all those things. Like when Miranda (Sex and the City Movie) said “Yes…when something is really really funny.”

One of the top things that bothered me most during chemo  was not to be able to eat away my emotions. The Chemo-mouth was so horrible that I couldn’t even eat my favorite meals. And since you are not allowed to eat out…forget the binge eating burgers and pizza.

YES the sour taste in the mouth has been GONE gone gone. I slowly started experimenting with food again! At home and at different restaurants like I used to! (I eat out about once a week). 

I also started working again so that keeps my mind off of the negativity. The key is to keep your self busy. So BUSY that you don’t have time to allocate to self-pity and depression. 🙂 🙂 Smile people SMILE. Find something you love and do it every day… doesn’t matter what it is; read a novel, watch a movie, scroll through Instagram!  😀 😀 😀

If you are going through it and are confused, please feel free to contact me at mamawifeyme@gmail.com. For sure it is the most difficult time of any ones life; even if I can be of help to 1 person out there I’d be super grateful.

Apart from that though, what I find slightly annoying is that people really do not know how to talk to survivors and what to say… they seem to lack knowledge and even efforts to find out more.

For a list of Do’s and Don’ts, keep coming back. I will definitely write more on that in the upcoming post. 

xox

One thought on “This Pinktober- Go Pink

Leave a Reply

